During a code review my mentor suggested I replace the below line

foo.intValue() == moo.intValue()

with

foo.equals(moo)

I differed saying that intValue() is more readable than equals(). If you read the line with comparison done using intValue() method it is very obvious that you are trying to equate two integers. But, if the same is done using equals() you have to see the type of the object being compared to realize that you are trying to equate two integers. Also, if you open up Integer class and see equals() method, it internally uses intValue() for comparison. His line of reasoning was that if you use equals(), you are handing over the equality operation to JVM. So, in the next version of JDK, if some optimization is done for comparison, you stand to gain from it. At that instance, I did not completely agree with it.

Later, I came across this blog post. When I completed reading it, I could not agree more with my mentor’s line of reasoning.

